GWT: Using source-path to create your own JRE emulation classes

I recently ran into an issue where a class I share between GWT and server-side java code would really, really benefit from being able to accept or return a Calendar object.  However, GWT doesn’t come with a Calendar class, so the appeared to be impossible.  Or, is it?

After some digging around in the documentation I discovered that GWT provides a directive in their module XML called “super-path”.  By adding something like:

<super-path path=”gwtonly”/>

To my *.gwt.xml file, I can tell GWT to load my own emulation classes when compiling javascript; when running in hosted mode, it will use the Java implementation of these classes.

Here’s an example source tree structure for this:

  • myapp/
  • myapp/MyApp.gwt.xml
  • myapp/client/*.java
  • myapp/gwtonly/java/lang/Calendar.java
  • myapp/gwtonly/java/lang/GregorianCalendar.java

In my Calendar and GregorianCalendar I just define exactly the methods and constants that I need for the code to *compile*.  Note that I’m not planning to actually use these classes;  I could, but the implementation is so minimal it would cause confusion for future programmers who wouldn’t understand why the calendar class behaved so weirdly in client-side code.

However, now I discovered that I have errors in my code when I compile.  Huh?  In eclipse it’s happy but in GWT it says something like “package declaration should be java.lang, but it should be myapp.gwtonly.java.lang”.  Oh, I see, it’s really using that package as a source folder, not as a package.  So, I fix it by changing the “package” declaration at the top to “java.lang”.  Guess who is unhappy now?  eclipse!  The two compilers can’t see eye-to-eye any more.

There is a solution – eclipse has a feature called “exclusion filters”.  I open the “Java Build Path” panel for the project, find the source folder that has all of this in it, and add an “exclude” filter for myapp/gwtonly/.  Now eclipse just ignores those files; I’ve lost a lot of eclipse java features as a result, but at least it works.

All this is part of my work on simple online accounting software, if you’re a consultant, entrepreneur, virtual assistant, bookkeeper, or freelancer go check it out.

3 Responses to GWT: Using source-path to create your own JRE emulation classes

  1. Kevin says:

    GREAT tip. I was wondering what to do with classes that contained JAX-WS annotations and this nailed it. Thanks again.

  2. jork says:

    good post.
    just an advice.

    it is:

    instead of

  3. jork says:

    sorry for previous post i forgot quoting.

    < super-source path=”gwtonly” />

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

