Outsourcing web design to india, and how they get such positive reviews

I recently completed a project to outsource my web design to a design firm in india.  It was an interesting experience and I learned some things from it.

There were a few hiccups in the process:

  • I wanted a modern table-less layout design, to fit into Web 2.0 and acccessibility guidelines (for no particular reason other than compliance).  The designer could only do table designs.  I suspect this may be because he cuts his photoshop using a tool that outputs tables.
  • I was hoping he could put this directly into my CMS as a template; I want to use CMS Made Simple, but he wasn’t able to figure that one out.
  • The first design we got we didn’t like much, so we had to talk him into making a second design from scratch.  The second design attempt was like the first one, but much worse!  And it didn’t follow our samples very well at all!  Still, he redeemed himself with a pretty nice third design.
  • We always wanted to keep all the design samples around for reference, so when giving feedback we can refer to previous samples he gave us, but he often just deleted the old samples so we couldn’t do that unless we specifically asked him to do so.

In the end, he gave me a feedback of 10 for being such a great client, saying he would love to work with me again.

I guess this buttered me up a bit, so out of kindness I gave him an 8 instead of the 6 that popped into my head first.  Interestingly, he immediately came back and said

“hi dobes….got ur review…with 8 Rating…..we didnt expect this….better…plz withdraw this review…..”

I didn’t feel like I cared much one way or the other, so I retracted my review.  After all, he has 51 other reviews which are either 9 or 10, and getting 8 review might put the poor guy out of business!

If, like me, you’ve noticed the % positive reviews for these indian companies are so good, it’s probably because they’re asking the client remove their review (or not give one) if the review is bad.

If you’re a freelancer on one of those sites, I suggest you also ask your client to give a good review or none, it works and it’ll probably give you more business.

Comments are closed.

